No more gas

There’s one posture in the Bikram series I always seem to forget exists. Even after 21 days of consecutive yoga sessions. It’s the Wind Removing Pose.

After the standing series, we get a break. There’s a two minute savasana. The body is all warmed up, sweat just dripping onto my mat. It’s time for the spine strengthening series. Wait! I almost missed it again. First, the Wind Removing Pose. The instructor tells me to stay on my back, lift right leg up and hold it just below the knee. To get a good grip on the sweaty leg, all my fingers are interlaced, webbing to webbing, thumbs included. I pull my right knee towards my right shoulder, avoiding rib cage and hold. We repeat on the left side and then do it with both legs, holding elbows, neck and back long on the mat. Another hold. The pose is supposed to help digestion by massaging the abdomen and colon. Hence the name – flatulence prevention.

Until recently, I actually thought the posture was called Windy Trees Removal Pose. It had a poetic “Wind in the Willows” feel to it. What a shock it was to realise that it was called Wind Removing Pose. In my superficial mind, it doesn’t sound very yogic at all. I find it much easier to relate to and connect with posture names derived from the nature. I love the clear-sighted and brave Eagle that provides me with the needed balance, the ferocious or even deadly Cobra that makes me reach higher and higher and the magnificent Tree that is steadily rooted into the ground but expands it branches to connect with others.

I need to make this pose more memorable for me, so that I no longer ignore it. All the 26 postures in the Bikram series have lengthy Sanskrit names. Wind Removing Pose is Pavanamuktasana. I know that “asana” is “pose”. I quickly break up the rest of the word into “pavana” and “mukta”. With the invaluable support of an online Sanakrit translation service, I find the meanings “wind” and “removing”, but luckily there are alternative translations as well. “Pavana” can also mean “cow-dung” and “mukta” can indicate “loosened”.

From now on, I will always remember the Pavanamuktasana or rather the Loosened Cow-Dung Pose.

20121204-071738.jpg

2 thoughts on “No more gas

  1. One of my biggest breakthroughs was in wind removing (…and no, it’s not what it sounds :)) It look me a few years before I could reach my hands to both elbows and on the day I finally did I was SO EXCITED. I have a special place in my heart for this posture. Thanks for giving it the attention I think it deserves!

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog! I have found that writing this blog together with my first attempt of a 30 Day Challenge has really improved my practice. Instead of just going into the hot room to do my practice, I think about it a bit more. I’m more conscious of what I do in that room.

Leave a Reply

