How about 30 days of yoga

I recently moved to the UK and finally got to become a full member of the Bikram Yoga Richmond community. Access to up to six classes a day, seven days a week – joy! Having enjoyed this bliss for a few weeks now, I become inspired by a lady practicing in front of me. Appearently it’s her 86th yoga class in a row. Wow! The next day I sign up for my own 30 day challenge.

The rules of the yoga challenge are simple: “Practice one class a day at Bikram Yoga Richmond for 30 consecutive days”. If I have not yet dragged you to a Bikram studio, you should know that Bikram Yoga is a sequence of 26 Hatha postures, all done twice. Each class is 90 minutes and the room is heated to 40 degrees Celsius. It’s sweaty stuff!

The founder of Bikram Yoga says: “Practice yoga every day for 30 days and I promise you a new life”. Bring it on!

20121118-213910.jpg

6 thoughts on “How about 30 days of yoga

  1. Sounds pretty cool and inspiring! Promise of a new life by a yoga guru sounds inviting … I m very eager to see the outcome of your endeavor, even though changes are that you ll be even more energetic and fit than now 🙂 … but what else?!?

    • Thanks, Marja! I also look forward to seeing how this story unfolds. Not sure if it has to do with the yoga or something else, but I have not been tired at all in the evenings. For a person who usually falls asleep on the sofa, it’s been strange being wide awake late at night.

  2. Congratulations with your new starts: blog and Bikram yoga marathon! Just yesterday planned to contact and ask you…….,where, how, how many times and what:) Today was pleasantly surprised to find all answers on my unasked questions…What means …you are doing right things, girl! Big hug.Elena

  3. Thanks for the encouragement, Elena. I did my sixth class today and all is well so far. I’m so excited to see how the 30 day challenge goes and how it feels to practice yoga every day.

  4. Bikram is amazing isn’t it! I have been going for a couple of months now at a great place here on the Gold Coast in Australia and I love it. Sometimes I can be slack though, I’ve only been twice this week, but hope to go Saturday at least. I’ve been wanting to do the 30 day challenge myself – two girls in my class just did it. I work away a lot but I’m hoping one of these days I will foresee an empty month and give it a shot. Congrats on starting and good luck for the month! Can’t wait to read the outcome! P.S thanks for stopping by living in tolerance 🙂

Leave a Reply

